WordPressure

Motivated by this post on the OpenSpires blog from @patlockley I’ve been experimenting with WordPress with a view, ultimately, to providing a one-stop OER environment for my institution. Pat has written a plug-in that allows the WordPress admin to specify search terms to create (a) dynamic collection(s) from Xpert, Merlot and OER Commons via their APIs (also searches Wikipedia, Wikibooks and Wikiversity for Openly licensed materials, openly licensed blogs on politics and Mendeley for journals as well as political podcasts from OpenSpires.) For examples of the plug-in in action see http://politicsinspires.org/oer/political-theory/

The plug-in isn’t yet publicly available – I’m hoping that I can have a go fairly soon *waves at Pat*…I’m no WordPress developer and am just finding my way round a test install of the platform, experimenting by pulling in different feeds from various sources (our own repository, Jorum, HumBox) using a plug-in called FeedWordPress – http://feedwordpress.radgeek.com/. It’s dead easy to syndicate one (or multiple) feeds to a designated posts page but what I can’t figure out is how I might push different feeds to different pages so I could, say, have one page that auto-publishes from the Leeds Met repository, one from Jorum, one from Humbox etc.

Below: Syndicated posts from Jorum (HE – Architecture, Building and Planning) to a “Jorum” page…but how can I push separate HumBox and Leeds Met feeds to the respective pages?

OERtest

One Response to WordPressure

  1. Pingback: Plugged-in for OER « Repository News

Leave a comment